Angies Website

AMPlights1.jpg
Hi Guys!
In addition to the last post about a bad commission experience, here comes a really good one.
Last week I was commissioned by a woman named Angie McHenry to make a few images for her website:
amplogo

She’s a really talented photographer, specializing in children’s portraits. And they are so, so beautiful!
I was really nervous about living up to those standards. But it started really well with her loving the sketches I made, and it was decided that I do not only draw the main image and the logo, but also a bunch of small details, such as these:AMPfireflies.jpgAMPgirls2.jpgAMPdandelions.jpgAMPtrees.jpg
AMPgirls1.jpg
I’m very happy about them, but it’s the big picture that I’m really proud of. When I get a commision that is really fun, the perfectionist in me starts exaggerating, and I can’t slow myself down. Usually I need to tell myself that it doesn’t have to be that perfect. Stick to the clients requests and don’t spend ten hours on something when I’m only getting paid for three. I mean, of course I want to do my very best every single time, but overdoing it means that I get very little sleep, and a very low income. So sometimes I just have to restrain myself.
But, well… not this time. This time I stayed awake pretty much all night for three days, and here is the result:ampbigpainting
Oh, man. Those trees were such a pain. But so worth it!
I’m really happy about it. And of course, the best part is that Angie loved them. Which was the whole point.
The reason I loved this project so much was because it’s rare that I get to paint a motive for someone else that is so much in line with my personal work. Mostly it’s just “draw this car, a butterfly, a portrait of my kid..etc….”. That’s all fun in it’s own way. But when the description is “It’s a few kids, in a mystical fairytale forest with really tall trees, on an adventure” that really gets  me going.

ampdandelion
I’m so glad that I was chosen for the project.
Angie is really an amazing photographer. Her photos are beyond beautiful, and if you happen to be anywhere close to her and have children, go book a session.

Find her website HERE
AMPlights2.jpg

Leave a Reply

